On securing domains and shutting down DC’s

One of the things I’ve just found since I’ve renamed my domain and gone to running with least privieges is that  since I no longer use the ‘Administrator’ account to log onto DC’s or the account that is the Administrator but not called that any more (phew), is that I couldn’t restart my DC’s after a Windows Update. Using my own admin user account, it didn’t have the right to shut down the DC, which is assigned by default to the Server Operators and Backup Operators Builtin Groups. So I simply made all my admins members of the Server Operators groups and we’re all good to do restarts of DC’s now. Winner.

Leave a Reply

