Low Power Everything

I’ve recently moved as you can probably tell from my previous few posts, and one of the things I’ve done is reduce my electronics to things which use as little power as possible.

To do this I’m using an HP NC2400 laptop in a docking station as my main PC. This is a huge step down in power needs from the Dual Xeon 3Ghz machine with SCSI disks that I used to use all the time. I now only power up the Xeon box when I want to load up Dynamips or play games which is very occasionally.
My stereo is now a Sony NW-A808 solid state walkman in a cradle which is then hooked up to a Bose Companion 3 Speaker system which again is a big step down in power req’s compared to the CD/DVD player and Yamaha Amp plus Speakers I used to use.
The final change will be to upgrade my 19″ LCD monitor to a 22″ or 24″ Widescreen LED backlit LCD display which reduces the power draw from about 50watts to about 35watts and increase the screen real estate at the same time so everyone’s a winner!

I’m waiting on some books off Amazon to get the solar rig hooked up on the house too so I’ll update plenty when we’re installing all that and let you all know how it works out.

Till the next time ..

Leave a comment