Full of techy tricks today..

I’d noticed on my windows servers recently that I’d been trying to run .exe and .msi files from the console and I was getting security errors stating:

Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.

I then discovered upon right clicking properties on the offending exe/msi there’s a dialogue at the bottom of the property screen which announced to me that “This file came from another computer and might be blocked to help protect this computer”.

Well, yeah It came from my administrative workstation over the wire so I could install it!

Anyhoo, next to that statement, the conveniently placed Unblock button served it’s purpose and I could then run the install as per normal.
Hope this saves someone some time as it’s annoyed me more than once recently.

Leave a Reply

