2010 comes to you with the letters D and B

Ahh.. Whilst sitting around sipping a cup of Orgasmic Swirling Mist White Tea last night I ended up contemplating the differences in record shopping between the mid nineties and now.

Back then, I’d arm myself with my trusty Warp Records bag, empty and flapping in the wind. I’d make my way up to the Mecca that was Soho and Camden Town by train and visit such long dead vinyl traders such as Choci’s Choons and Zoom Records to get the latest blistering hot techno and trance tunes and lose no less than £100 in hard earnt notes, otherwise it would feel like a half arsed trip. On one such visit to Choci’s I had my first ever go on Absinth at what must have been not much more than midday one Saturday.. Smiles!
With record bag bulging and full with the anticipation of getting back and rinsing the new wax out of my Cerwin Vega’s, I’d negotiate the tubes and trains and return to my 1210’s and DJM500 and spend the rest of the day/night getting rather excited about the loot which I’d managed to acquire and thinking about how to construct it into my latest dose of sonic assault to be distributed amongst my mates.

Today, I can listen online 24×7 to any podcast or online radio station – with tracklisting – so there’s no going up to the counter of said vinyl dealer and asking for the tune that goes ‘dum dum waaah wasaah waasaaaaahh’, and within moments I can have that tune that I’ve just heard from Juno/Beatport downloaded and burnt up to CD and mixing on the decks downstairs, or if I can’t be bothered with that, simply chucked straight  into Serrato/Tracktor and I’ve never actually left my seat from hearing to purchasing to playing.

It’s definitely empowering in the digital age, but it’s definitely lost the personal touch and the journey that you used to have to go through getting new music. No shit I guess.
As far as Serrato and Tracktor are concerned. I’m not a fan if you’re using them to simply mix tune to tune. That’s gotta be a cop out. I know selection is key, so if you’re beatmatching fantastically but playing Bob the Builder then noone is going to give a damn, but you have to do something if you’re going to call yourself a proper club DJ surely?
I think where Serrato and Tracktor are actually useful is empowering the DJ to actually create on the fly and transcend the barrier of  2/3 decks and get really impulsive with all the material at his or her disposal.

Ahh.. there was a point to all this! I did end up going through the latter purchasing process and got myself a good wedge of new Drum and Bass which I’ve been getting ohhh soo excited about. As a result I’m going to chuck together this bunch a choons and publish it on soundcloud for you lovely people.

Be Ready. Be Cool

P

Leave a Reply

